Verified by Visa

Verified by Visa FAQs

Learn more about Verified by Visa. Below you will find a comprehensive list of questions and answers explaining everything you want to know about Verified by Visa.

Verified by Visa is a service from Visa and your card issuer that provides greater peace of mind when you shop online by providing added protection against unauthorized use of your enrolled card.

Once you've registered and created a Password, each time you make an online purchase, a window will pop up asking for your Password, just like using a PIN at the ATM. When you correctly enter your Password, your card issuer confirms that you are the authorized cardholder and your purchase is completed. No code, no confirmation, no purchase.

Yes. When you make an online purchase, a window from your card issuer will pop up and prompt you for your Password. After reviewing the details of your purchase and confirming that your Personal Message is correct, simply enter your Password to complete your purchase.

Verified by Visa requires the use of Microsoft Internet Explorer version 5.0 and above, Netscape Navigator 4.0 and above, or America Online 4.0 and above. In addition, you should disable any software that prevents pop-up windows as this will interfere with your use of Password.

Because there's no special software to install, you can shop from any computer meeting the system requirements outlined above and still receive the added protection afforded by Verified by Visa.

Your card issuer will automatically update this information in your profile. 

You will need to register the new card for Verified by Visa. Simply return to the registration site, and complete the registration process with your new card.

You can register any of your existing Visa, credit or debit, as long as they are issued by a participating issuer.

We encourage you to register all of your Visa cards. There is no limit to how many cards you can register.

Individuals sharing a card number are encouraged to register separately and create their own Password. However, depending on the information needed for registration, the secondary cardholder may need to use the personal data of the primary cardholder to register. Please follow the enrollment instructions on the enrollment screens.

The information you provide is checked against the information that your card issuer has on file. This is done as a security precaution to be sure that the person registering is the real cardholder. For further security, we also ask for the Signature Panel Code number to be sure you have physical possession of the card that is being enrolled.

Yes, however we recommend each Visa card have its own Password so it is protected individually. We recommend that you select a Password that will be easy for you to remember, but difficult for others to guess.

The Personal Message is a message that you create during registration. Once you've completed your registration, each time you make an online purchase, a small window will pop up and ask you to enter your Password. In this window, you'll see your Personal Message. The Personal Message is your assurance that you are communicating with, and submitting your Password to, your card issuer. If the Personal Message displayed in the pop-up window is incorrect, you should not enter your Password, but should instead contact Customer Service immediately by calling the phone number on the back of your Visa card.

The Signature Panel Code is the last three digits that appear on the back of your card, on the signature panel. We ask for this information as an extra security feature to be sure that you have physical possession of the card being registered.

If you have questions, or need assistance during the registration process, you should contact Customer Service.

When you make a purchase at a participating merchant, a window will pop up requesting your Password. After reviewing the details of your purchase and confirming that your Personal Message is correct, simply enter your Password to complete your purchase.

Yes. You can begin using your Password immediately after completing your registration; no waiting period is necessary.

You should do the following:        

  1. Make sure you are using your enrolled card.        
  2. Make sure the merchant is participating.            
  3. Be sure you have disabled any pop-up stopping software on your system.        
  4. Contact customer service after double-checking the above items.

Yes, but you will not be asked for your Password at these merchants. To complete your purchase, simply follow the traditional checkout process.

When you shop at participating online merchants, using a card you have enrolled in Verified by Visa, your Visa card number is automatically recognized, resulting in the pop up window that asks for your Password.

You should return to the registration site, click on the "Forgot Password" link, and follow the subsequent instructions.

If your Personal Message is missing from the Password request box, or if an incorrect Personal Message is displayed, you should not submit your Password, but should instead contact customer service.

The Account Assistant feature allows you to change your Password, Personal Message and email address (varies per card Issuer). Additionally, you can remove the Password feature from your card.

Simply return to the web site where you registered and click on "Login". You will be asked to enter your card number and Password to login. (We ask for both items for additional security). You may want to bookmark this web site for future use.

You should return to the registration site, click on the "Forgot Password" link, and follow the subsequent instructions to re-enroll your card and replace your previous Password.

Access the Account Assistant feature by returning to the registration site and clicking on the "Login" button. You can then change your Password to anything you want as long as it meets your Issuers Password configuration, contains no spaces and is different from your Personal Message.

Access the Account Assistant feature by returning to the registration site and clicking on the "Login" button. You can then change your Personal Message to anything you want as long as it is between 1 and 30 characters and is different from your Password.

Access the Account Assistant feature by returning to the registration site and clicking on the "Login" button. You can then remove the Verified by Visa feature from your card.

Simply return to the registration site and re-register. Please note you will have to create a Password that is different from your original Password.

Once you've registered and created a Password, each time you make an online purchase, a window will pop up asking for your Password, like using a PIN at the ATM. When you correctly enter your Password, you confirm that you are the authorized cardholder and your purchase is completed. If the correct code is not supplied, your card issuer cannot confirm your identity and the purchase will not be completed. No code, no confirmation, no purchase.

If your Visa card is issued in the United States, then it will have zero liability as one of its features. But even if you already have this protection, Verified by Visa will save you from the hassle of disputing a charge that isn't yours, saving you time and aggravation. Verified by Visa provides added protection and peace of mind above and beyond zero liability.

The information you provide is checked against the information that your card issuer has on file. This is done as a security precaution to be sure that the person registering is the real cardholder. For further security, we also ask for the Signature Panel Code number to be sure you have physical possession of the card that is being enrolled.

No. The Verified by Visa service does not use cookies that are stored on your desktop. Instead, the software uses "session cookies" which are temporarily stored on your desktop and immediately (and automatically) deleted when you go offline.

To cancel your Verified by Visa registration, return to the registration site, click on the Account Assistant feature and then follow the direction to cancel/deactivate your enrollment. However, if you visit a merchant site that is using Verified by Visa you may be asked to re-enroll prior to completing your purchase.

Yes, simply complete the registration process again and your Verified by Visa account will be re-activated. However, the new Password you create must be different from your original Password.

Explore More

Security and Education

Security and Education

Keeping you informed and secure.

Mobile Banking

Mobile Banking

Take us with you.

MoneyPass ATMs

MoneyPass ATMs

Find surcharge-free ATMs wherever you go.